Some people believe that children should be given a smartphone as soon as they begin their elementary school studies. Others believe this may harm a child’s development and parents should wait until their children are older and mature enough to handle the responsibilities of having a smartphone. Which view do you agree with? What might some consequences be of giving a young child a smartphone?

Many adults these days are glued to their smartphones and think their children should have one as well. While some children may benefit from this, the negative impacts, such as stunted creativity and critical thinking skills, are not, in my opinion, worth the convenience it provides their parents. Thus, children should only have a mobile device once they begin high school. Children need to acquire many skills on their journey to adulthood. Giving them a device that removes the need to learn basic skills, such as completing simple math equations and spelling new words, harms them in the long term because they cannot fully develop their brain functions properly. They will also not broaden their natural creativity if they are constantly engaged in passive activities like watching YouTube videos or playing mindless games. That being said, there are benefits to learning to use a smartphone. These include technical skills associated with a computerized tool, as well as modern social skills, including texting, emailing, and chatting online. However, these aspects of a child’s education should only be encouraged once a child has a base of mental competency and a level of maturity to handle the many influences that exist on the internet. By the time a child reaches high school, he or she is likely ready to prepare for the adult world in which all of these aspects manifest themselves. To conclude, parents should help their children gain the intellectual and imaginative tools they require for success in life, and only then provide them the tools of the modern world that they certainly need to learn.