In many countries plastic bags are main source of rubbish causing pollution in oceans and on land; therefore they should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement.

As the world's population continues to grow, so does the amount of garbage that people produce. In many countries, bags made of plastic are the primary contributors of wastes leading to pollution in the water bodies and on land and therefore its usage should not be encouraged. Despite, polyethene is an incredibly useful material, it is a serious threat to mankind especially for the reason being these are mainly composed of toxic components which cause illness. Firstly, elastic is a durable material which is one of the main reasons it is not biodegradable causing a negative impact on the environment when accumulated in large quantities. Also, toxins present in any polyethene products adversely affect plants which in turn leads to an increase in carbon dioxide levels in the atmosphere posing severe damage to the human population in that region. Plastic thrown after the usage at times get consumed by animals while they feed on the eatable local wastes containing polyethene substances and results in the death of animals when the elastic concentration is pretty huge. In addition, polymer wastes redirected into oceans, seas and rivers pollute the water which in turn destroys the water species and a huge variety of sea creatures causing an ecological imbalance and, Moreover toxic compounds released by non-biodegradable bags and other products harm the ozone layer which protects the atmosphere and prevents any harmful gases from entering the earth surface. To conclude, plastic usage should be completely eradicated although it has a wide range of benefits, at the same time there are much more concerns it creates over its advantages. An alternate to the polymers which are biodegradable and has no adverse effects on the environment should be put in place and measures to be taken to make sure these are used predominantly over polythenes.