Some people think social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

An opinion has emerged recently that the importance of social ability outweighs academic performance. Though vital as social networks are, in my perspective, they are not as vital as academic issues and I will analyze the forces behind it. To begin with, it is the academic qualifications that determine the height people stand on rather than merely social talents. Imagine, if an individual fails to get a good score in college entrance exam, it is extremely possible that the chance of entering tremendous conglomerates will be missed, either. Then, no matter how well he could deal with the relationships with his colleagues, the achievement cannot probably be gained as same as those in larger corporations. Moreover, knowledge storage is a key factor to drive lateral thinking and the problem-solving ability in practice, which cannot easily be replaced by social networks. Creativity has been a significant force to boost technological innovations in modern society, and academic performance is the base of it. On the other hand, however, social-dealing talent does makes sense, especially in the further development stage of career. As related research reveals, the efficiency obtains huge progress when the overall atmosphere is nice and the culture of company benefits from it, too. Success would not be achieved without a harmonious relationship among teammates and excellent leadership, which mostly need social talent. But the academic performance forms the basis, and possibly will not give way to other factors. In conclusion, academic qualifications cannot be replaced by social skills, especially with the technology thriving in modern times.