Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the view of certain people, the loss of specific species of plants and animals is the prime problem to our environment because it costs us the potential cure from their genetic code and natural diversity. Whilst other people believe that we have more vital environmental emergencies. From my perspective, those vital emergencies should be put in higher priority. On the one hand, the medical benefits brought by some species in the wild have been undeniable. Moreover, certain species, such as the Tasasuran wolfs, play an important role in the habitat where they live. The extinction of those living creatures raises a concern that we would lose some promising treatment for well-known diseases. For example, after the last specimen of Tasasuran wolf had died, the disturbance needed for the jungle whey they used to live was no longer available and that led to much less carbon dioxide produced and limited grass growth, which naturally affected other species living in the same area. On the other hand, mankind is facing much more critical problems with our environment than ever before. The problems are much more realistic, directly impact our lives and need to be addressed as soon as possible. With the fast-paced growth of industries, air pollution has been a big concern in large cities across the world that we have put in a great deal of effort to improve yet the result is no nowhere near positive. For example, the capital city New Delhi of India, has been suffering great damage from air pollutants, such as fumes from transports and dust from industrial zones that people there could barely see the cities during the day. This direct and obvious impact should be prioritized and dealt with. In conclusion, while technological advancement could buy humankind more time to save and preserve the lives of some species of animals and plants, the prime focus now should be addressing critical environmental problems, as mentioned above, air pollution.