Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extend do you agree or disagree with this statement.

The advancement of facilities is one of the crucial parts of governance. Focusing on the development of roads is beneficial rather than railways. Hence, I disagree with the fact that more money has to be spent on the development of rail lines. The essay below will highlight the reasons for the same. To commence with, firstly, investing in building new routes will enable faster reach to the desired destinations. In general, people prefer roads over railways because under few circumstances the railway stations are far from their living areas. For instance, the development of the Bangalore to Chennai roadway has increased the number of travellers and has succeeded in reducing the travel time from eight hours to six hours. The same travel consumes around eight hours when travelled by train. Furthermore, yet another reason is that laying roadways are cheaper compared to railway lines. For example, laying tracks in Manali is challenging and costly as it involves cumbersome processes like bombing the mountain regions. In, such zones roads are safer than railways. Many train accidents happen in hilly regions. Hence, people prefer roadways in such regions. Trains are slower as there is a hindrance like a landslide that takes a long time to recover the routes. Hence, tourists prefer to opt for roadways. To conclude, developing many roads are beneficial than building railway lines as laying them are expensive. Also, the public prefers roadways over railways as it is faster and safer.