Most high-level positions in companies are filled by men even though the workforce in many developed countries is more than 50 per cent female. Companies should be required to allocate a certain percentage of these positions to women. To what extent do you agree?

In many developed countries, despite the fact that women constitute about 50 per cent of the workforce, the most prestigious positions are occupied by men. Therefore, many people argue that a certain fraction of seats should be reserved for women. However, in my opinion, instead of allocating some seats for women, the focus should be on giving them equal opportunity to compete fairly for the same positions as men. Reservation comes with an idea, that the cohort of individuals need upliftment, however, this is a matter of demanding cerebral equality. For instance, if a female is equally talented and hard-working as a man, she should be given an honest opportunity to become the CEO of a company, not because a seat was reserved for her, but because she deserved it. Women are more than capable of giving a fair fight. Moreover, providing reservation would be a short-term solution to this big problem. We have very successful women like Michelle Obama, and Sunita Chawla Williams, who have proved that if given an opportunity they can achieve great heights. Therefore, focus should rather be on changing the traditional and narrow-minded approach of people, who still believe that women cannot give sufficient time to their work because they have a family to raise. Additionally, more awareness programs and workshops, as well as a fair judgment panel for interviews are a few solutions that can help to improve the situation in the long run. In conclusion, I believe that women do not require allocation of certain seats, rather a change in people’s mindset and being given equal opportunity would be a prudent way to resolve this issue.