In the past, knowledge was contained in books. Nowadays, knowledge is uploaded to the internet. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the internet is considered to be a necessity in which knowledge from all over the world is stored, in contrast to the past. This might create many advantages however the undesired effects should not be overlooked. To begin with, much of the data in the books was conveniently stored on the Internet, which made life easier for many people. According to experts, this is a low-priced option than books with which you can read any data from anywhere in the world thanks to Internet access. Accordingly, instead of going to the library, where associated costs and a lot of time are required, it will be enough to simply search the Internet without spending hours flipping through many books. Google provides its users with 15 GB of free data storage. If the allocated space is not enough, everyone can purchase an additional 100 GB to 2 TB. Using cloud storage will speed up all the processes in which people can store an unlimited amount of information, as well as access it in one second, then if it was a paper copy. On the other hand, storing information on the Internet can be a big disadvantage as concerns of data leakage and theft grow. With the advancement of technology, hacking techniques are progressing, leading to the risk that valuable data will be destroyed. Hence, books may turn out to be the best option that has been widely used in the past. A cyber attack on Maastricht University in 2019, destroying valuable research that could serve as evidence, that the Internet should not be used as a repository of knowledge. However, using cyber security services can prevent technical problems. In conclusion, despite the risks of using online information, the ease of storage makes this a positive trend at the level. The advantages of displacing books by the Internet far outweigh the disadvantages.