Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example, working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, community service is often seen as an important part of our society. Some people think that it should be compulsory for students in high school to take part in such programmes. While doing this could have some repercussions, I personally believe that this idea would bring more benefits to not only students but also society. On the one hand, implementing this proposal would have some negative impacts on the community and students involved. Firstly, being high school students means they are already expected to perform well to have academic achievements which are essential to their future careers. If they are made to serve in community service, it might stress them out as they have less free time to recover after studying hard or doing revision for long hours. Secondly, as those students often lack maturity, local charities may have more work in supervising them. Therefore, instead of helping charitable organizations, the students could be a source of problems. However, doing unpaid community service would definitely beneficial. By taking part in those social activities such as taking care the elderly, teaching sports to younger children, volunteer students will probably have great chances to not only develop practical skills such as communication but also nurture their generosity and empathy with difficult situations of the disadvantaged. Moreover, charitable organizations have more human resources, allowing them to give more help to people in need and reduce the workload of older volunteers who also need the assistance from younger generations. In conclusion, although there may be several effects on students ’ performance at school and issues local charities could deal with, I agree that unpaid community service should be a mandatory part in the standard curriculum of high schools as its benefits are more significant.