Some people think that individuals today are more dependent on each other. Others believe people have become more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the present day, the individuality of people and their independence are a primary concern in any society. While some people claim that today the number of individuals dependent has been increased, others believe that the proportion of independent people are much higher. I tend to agree with the latter. From my point of view, nowadays, individuals have much more chances to appreciate opportunities. On the one hand, some individuals believe that part of the population has become much more dependent due to the fact of many adults still reside with their parents. Although they have an occupation, they still need this kind of helping to live. Different from North American citizens where the habit is to leave the house of parents around sixteen years old. Moreover, this reality in our society is owing to a lack of financial stability which leads to an increase of mental disorders resulting in adults being much more dependent. On the other hand, another part of the population claims that individuals are dependent on technologies. Therefore, the advance of globalization and technology could have become these individuals much more independent, in other words, more lonely. For instance, different from the past, today people have more opportunities to jump at them not only in private life but also in work-life, as a result, adults are more independent. As far as I am concerned, nowadays, families are much more supportive and reliable. Hence, individuals know that even if happing something wrong, they have the support of their families. This protection helps them to be more independent. Furthermore, today, they have more chances and freedom to appreciate opportunities different from years ago when the pressure and criticisms were higher. In other words, fear of the new became them more dependent. In conclusion, the presence of familiar faces is essential to growing up, however, adults need to learn to be more independent. Independence means more freedom to make own decisions and this is of paramount importance to build a good human being.