Some people who have been into prison become good citizens later and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Educating students about both good and bad societal activities is very much essential. Nowadays, it was observed that many people who have returned from prisons have become good in nature through rehabilitation. While I agree that it may be a good idea for them to educate children about the dangers of criminal activities, I feel there are other methods to warn adolescents about the same. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons for my opinion in detail. The primary reason to avoid this method is that criminals might not be fully free from their mentalities and might cause harm to juveniles at times. To be more precise, criminal minds are formed because of their personal issues from long since, which cannot be nullified in a single instance with imprisonment. A factual incident that happened in Brazil, for instance, where a criminal attacking a six-year-old kid when he was invited to a school ceremony was shocking to everyone. Thus, we cannot take criminals for granted to encourage such kinds of ways to inform children about crimes. Secondly, there are other ways to bring awareness to teenagers through books and videos. I feel the recorded videos or books of criminals where they explain about their life before and after the imprisonment along with the jail life would help children to understand the consequences better. The autobiography of a notorious criminal in France after the imprisonment, for example, is suggested by many to read to understand the life of a person and his behaviour before and after the punishment. Hence, rather than bringing criminals to educate teenagers directly, it is better through other ways. In conclusion, it is being observed in recent times that criminal mentalities are nullified after the punishment in jails. There is an argument that they should talk to youngsters to educate them about the consequences of criminal activities after they become good citizens. However, I disagree with this opinion and I think that it leads to some unwanted situations because of several reasons and I personally recommend other methods to educate children.