Some people say that in all levels of education from primary school to universities too much tine is spend on learning than facts and not enough on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?

In the last few decades, there is a paradigm change in the process of imparting education. Instead of learning practical skills, schools and universities focus on learning and memorizing facts. I agree that the majority of educational institutions follow the practice of spending more time on learning facts than providing practical skills. Firstly, there is a changing pattern of selecting educational streams in post-secondary education, and secondly, a major portion of new graduates have low social and financial understanding. Learning facts and memorizing formulas are primary teaching methods. In primary education, remembering historical event dates is a norm, which not only makes the subject boring but also defeats the purpose of learning. Additionally, mathematics is becoming difficult for young pupils to comprehend, which can be attributed to the incorrect approach of imparting education, by forcing students to learn formulas rather than showcasing the real-life applications of the same. To exemplify, students in modern India are more averse to the idea of opting for Mathematics as a future course of study. On the contrary, learning practical and real-life skills has a long-lasting effect on the personality of the children. One can easily remember a laboratory-based chemical test for a much longer time, compared to a chemical formula taught in the class. Similarly, measuring the perimeter of a farm physically can help children in understanding the motivation behind geometrical formulas. in addition to course materials, learning financial and social skills further enhance the personality of the child, and provides a direction to their future endeavours. In conclusion, there is a dire need of changing the educational pattern, by bringing the focus to practical and real-life skills rather. This will not only have a long-term effect on the current students but will also provide a platform for future generations.