Overpopulation is the world's most serious environmental problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, many people claim that the increasing growth in population has caused a serious issue in our ecosystem on earth. I completely agree with this statement as it has a severe impact based on a plethora of environmental issues such as pollution, waste dumping in the sea and landfills, global warming. Thereby this essay will further elaborate the reasons to support based on relevant examples. Firstly, a surplus of the human population has contributed to the growing problem of global warming which has been increasing significantly these days. Global warming demonstrates the increase in temperature of the atmosphere due to the excess emission of toxic greenhouse gases. Additionally, increasing in residents in our world has promoted the use of fossil fuel for cars and electricity generation. For example, according to a recent survey conducted by Yale University, such release of greenhouses gases has grown 3 fold as compared to the previous 5 years which contributes to the rise of temperature in our atmosphere with an approximate increase of 4 degrees Celsius. Furthermore, recent research depicts the expansion in crowds has negatively affected our environment lead to rising sea levels causing severe floods around the world. This in turn causes small islands and coastal cities to sink underwater. Consequently, this is due to the excavation of sand for construction to accommodate the large spurge of inhabitants. For example, since 2018, Kerala has suffered severe floods frequently due to the mud extraction for building and depleting the land resources.3 In conclusion, many may debate whether if the ever-growing of people is a problem of concern. Based on the above facts, I strongly suggest it requires a great deal of attention to curb this issue before it permanently damages our planet.