Some people think that governments should spend public money on saving minority languages. Others, however, believe that would be a waste of public money. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The financial questions raised by whether governments funding should be given to minority languages or not are subject to much debate. As far as equity and efficiency are concerned, I personally believe that it is not a good choice to spend too much on saving minority languages. First and foremost, governments only have limited funds that need to support diverse fields and saving minority languages would involve high costs inevitably. Obviously, there are more important areas that governments need to be concerned preferential, such as education, health care, public transport and so forth, which go hand in hand with everyone. If governments give priority to saving minority languages, the investment capital in other fields would decrease dramatically, which would damage the interests of citizens who do not use these minority languages. In addition to equity, efficiency should also be taken into consideration. Speaking the same language could help to boost the efficiency of communication, and it is beneficial for cross-regional cooperation and business. In these cases, language would not be a hinder between different areas. Admittedly, cultural diversity could enrich our lives and make our cities more interesting to some extent. For instance, my school usually holds some creative activities about diverse languages to board our sight of various cultures. Simultaneously, language is more than a means of communication, but an important part of the cultural heritage of the people who speak it. The disappearance of minority languages would erode these people’s cultural identity. In conclusion, the negative impacts that stem from supporting minority languages could provoke knock-on consequences of equity and efficiency, although it is beneficial for cultural diversity.