Many elderly people are no longer looked after by their families but are put in care homes or nursing homes. what are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

In recent times, we can see that there is an increasing number of new nursing shelters for senior citizens being opened because many families do not care for them. One benefit from such trending behaviour is that the elders are getting very good medical attention. On the other hand, the disappointing reality is that many children are choosing to abandon their aged parents for unimportant reasons. Elders who live in nursing homes receive better medical care and attention than their children's home. For instance, a senior citizen with amnesia requires continuous monitoring so that they are not lost. But the elders living with their children do not receive such attention. Whereas, in nursing homes, these patients have a caregiver throughout the day. They ensure that have their proper meal and the required medicines. Therefore it is evident that living in nursing homes is beneficial. The biggest drawback is that many children are choosing to abandon their aged parents for trivial issues. The most common example is that the daughter-in-law has daily arguments with her old in-laws. As a result, she forces the husband to abandon them at shelter homes. Hence many elders are being abandoned due to trivial issues. In conclusion, we can see that there is an increasing number of shelters homes for the elderly. Though there is an advantage for the elders to receive good medical attention, the growing number of abandoned elders is a reason for caution. Hence I firmly believe that this trend is not beneficial for the elders.