Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

Several people believe that sending criminals to prison is not a good solution and the better way for them is to be trained for jobs and education. I think training knowledge in jobs and education is really helpful for criminals but sometimes we have to send them to prison. On the first hand, the people who break the law should be sent to jail in some cases. Firstly, sending the gangster who has serious wrongdoing such as robbery or murder to jail is the best way to avoid them committing again. Strict punishment from the law will help them to appreciate their life and learn from their experience, which are the main reasons to reduce the proportion of lawbreakers. Secondly, sending hooligans to jail will be a proper demonstration of the government to limit a serious threat to society. For example, when the youth watch news on television, the results of violations which they have to receive if they break the law will be shown. On the other hand, education and job training are other good ways to tackle crimes. Firstly, culprits will have another chance to remake their life if they are equipped with working knowledge, which is the main solution to change their destiny. Therefore, they can look for normal jobs and start getting married to a good girl like every citizen, which helps them to get through the dark period of time in the past. In addition, this is a suitable punishment for minor cases such as shoplifting and pickpocketing. It can encourage crooks to get through their past and move to a better future. In conclusion, both solutions are effective so I think the government should implement them properly to reduce the rate of criminals.