In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advancement of the internet, fewer and fewer people are able to browse information freely, digital publishing is also increased by this trend. However, I disagree that people will not buy newspapers and books in the future because people read anything online freely. Although people can read online without paying, people should pay for publishers to access the information they would like to read and the convenience of printed publications can not be replaced. Firstly, useful or high-quality reports or data should be charged because this is intellectual property that can contribute to various purposes. For example, the well-known magazine: “the economist” is the most prestigious and word-of-mouth magazine. The cutting-edge content and detailed analyzed reports are so knowledgeable that many institutes select it as class material. This knowledge is edited by tons of experts and journalists. People should pay for it no matter if it is physical or virtual, thus the publisher of the Economist can be sustained and produce better articles for those who are avid readers. Secondly, paper books provide unique features which are irreplaceable such as easier to turn pages and be stored. For instance, I am fond of reading books to my children. Physical books enable us to hold and turn pages of the books together, creating invaluable chances of interaction. Whenever I see the picture books read on the bookshelf, it reminds me of the enjoyment and memory of shared reading. Although those books also publish digital versions, I still prefer to purchase physical books due to the features I mentioned. In sum, good knowledge resources should be charged and printed publications will still be reserved. Although the trend of technology allows people to access a variety of reading materials. I disagree that people will not purchase paper publications because of unlimited reading online.