Write about the following topic: 'Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people's lives and should receive more funding.' To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Almost all the media outlets cover not only local news but also global news. While local news impacts people in a closer and more relevant way, I do not agree that more budget should be utilized on local content. Firstly, gathering local information, naturally, needs less resources compared to sourcing of data from outside. Secondly, local news are limited and excess funding would eventually go to waste. Various types of cost go into sourcing of international news. These include expenses for the crew members such as transportation and accommodation; translators and guides; and even security at war zones, just to name a few. Even if the broading stations do not send their own crew, they will still need to pay the local media at other countries for the information that they are receiving. On the other hand, gathering news locally is less costly as such expenses will not even incur. Therefore, it is not necessary to spend more for local content. No matter how big a country is, there are only so much happenings in it that are worthy to be in the news. Additonally, all the local media agencies will be covering the same pieces of local news everyday. Abundent funding for internal content might actually go to waste. However, if insufficient fund is given to the global news department, it might negatively impact the media agencies as they could miss out some important global news. To conclude, both local information and internation content are equally imporant to be covered by the news agencies. Due to the limited amount of news to be covered locally and its cost efficiency, I feel that it is not logical to provide more funding for the local news than what is actually necessary.