In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

In some countries the youngsters are motivated to get a job or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university life. In this essay, I will discuss the benefits and the drawbacks for young generations who accept those challenges. On the one hand, travelling or working before studying at university has several benefits. These activities could make the youngsters become independent people. For example, they can try to work on a half-day basis during their holidays. With this activity they can get more experience in how to make their own money. Another benefit is they can broaden their horizons by doing some travelling. For instance, if they travel to another place, they will see a different culture than their origin. It can make them have more respect for each other. All these activities that they do would be beneficial for their future life. On the other hand, having work or travel before their mature age might have some drawbacks. They might feel exhausted because they do an activity that they should not do in their usual situation. For example, students who work after their school hours tend to become tired. Another effect is they will be affected by a bad habit from another society since they have not had a mature consideration. For instance, students who go to another place for a year's travelling activities are more likely to accept a new habit whether it is bad or good. To conclude, doing some activities such as working or travelling before the youngsters enter university life is good. However, those activities also have drawbacks that people should realize about.