Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help the local community. They believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole. Do you agree or disagree?

It is broadly believed that every adolescent would not only personally benefit from spending their leisure time for jobs without payment as requested but also provide aid to their neighborhood. From my perspective, I find this point of view favorable. Firstly, spending their spare time on some simple labor can be considered as an internship that helps the youth develop professionally, socially, and even emotionally. Working without the expectation of salaries or wages gives teenage boys and girls opportunities to cultivate and enhance their skills, to make social connections with their peers and superiors, and on top of it all, to learn to appreciate the meaning of the jobs. For example, volunteering at the local soup kitchen gives youngsters who are passionate in cooking chances not only to do what they love, but also make friends and sharpen their skills if they want to become a chef in the future. Ultimately, at the end of the day, a sense of contentment and happiness would rise in them as they reflect on how many hungry people they have helped feed. Furthermore, contributions from male and female adolescents who work in their free time are altogether gradually making the society a better place. Revisiting the aforementioned example of teenagers who work in the local soup kitchen for free, it can be asserted that they are, in fact, helping laborers with lower incomes to finish their jobs of serving the society, such as giving nutrition to street sweepers who keep the town clean. The youth’s work undoubtedly belongs to a chain reaction where one small good deed leads to another. In conclusion, I strongly believe putting adolescents to work in their free time gives them personal benefits in a variety of aspects, as well as facilitates other indirect positive influences on the society.