Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste ?

Nowadays, waste management is the most encountered concern by most nations. A particular segment of society argues on how a large number of household garbage are not being recycled. Therefore,they believe that governments should introduce new laws in order to make more people recycle. To begin with, research conducted by the environment unit of the University of Calgary shows that 70% of world waste are being added newly. Whereas only 20% of garbage are being recycled.The data of those researches indicate the public's careless behaviour on environmental issues.Another research suggests that many marine species are dying because of the consumption of plastic and polythene materials. Human kinds are so busy making their life easy that they do not care about what is happening around the world due to their actions. Moreover, Garbage can generate electricity. Brazil is the first country to use garbage for producing electricity and now more than 18 countries are considering the method to produce electricity. That is to say,if the residents of these countries throw away their wastes it will harm their economy. On the other hand,there might be some people who believe that before taking legal actions against those, governments should consider other options such as arranging public campaigns and rewarding those who do their job perfectly. However, I believe that it is too late to consider these options. The governments have to be strict on this issue and take legal steps against those careless residents who break the law. To sum up,it is an issue that the whole world is concerned about. It is high time, governments make the residents recycle more in order to save their own existence and for the sake of future generations.