More and more businesses as well as individuals are choosing to communicate either professionally or socially using technology rather than face to face. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of using technology for communicating.

With the advancement of technology and the internet, more and more of the youth are conversing on the internet, text messaging and other forms, which results in a slow decline in face to face conversations. In this essay, we shall systematically discuss the pros and cons of this new age of communication. First and foremost, one of the greatest advantages of communicating via the internet is its efficiency. For example, in my last company, it was easier for employees to hold virtual meetings with each other, even though they were all in the same office, rather than meeting each other face to face, because you do not need to check everyone's calendar, and everyone can be sitting at their desks and attend the meeting, whilst going on with their normal day to day activities. Furthermore, long-distance and emergency communications can be done with much ease and faster. For example, many corporate companies in Trivandrum have clients in Europe, so rather than sending their employees to the onsite location, work can be communicated and done through a virtual call, which helps save a lot of company funds, which would otherwise be spent on airfares and accommodations. The drawback of this is that people lose touch with others, building trust becomes very difficult between various teams and team members. For example, in my last job, I was working as a travel consultant for a corporate company. As a travel consultant, there will always be dire situations that need to be responded to on an urgent basis. However, as per the corporate's policy, we were never able to do a single act, without any mail communication, because if we didn't have it, none of our invoices would be processed. So, even though we were working for the same cause, and sitting in the same locations, there was no trust established between the teams. Consequently, not always sure who you are conversing with, and the internet is susceptible to online crimes such as hacking which can cost companies a lot. In conclusion, using technology for communication is now becoming the new norm, and the fact is people need to accept it and get on board. That being said, we also need to accept, the fact that face to face communication will soon be a thing of the past, and that is the biggest disadvantage being posed by introduction of technology.