Many young children have unsupervised access to the Internet and are using the Internet to socialise with others. This has can lead to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. Discuss problems and solution.

With the advancement of technology and the internet, more and more of the youth are conversing on the internet. This while beneficial also poses a whole set of problems. This essay shall first look into the various problems this can create, and also discuss possible solutions for it. First and foremost, let us dive into the discussion of the problems it can create. The most obvious worry is the unlimited and unregulated amount of adult content online. This can not only get youngsters hooked, but it can also skew their conceptions towards the opposite sex. In addition, online gaming which doesn't have any age restrictions can bring rise to another addiction, which if not controlled, can cause financial ruin. For example, in Trivandrum, at the initial stages of the pandemic, many schools started online classes, which resulted in many parents introducing phones to their children. The complication that arose, was that many children started using the phones for unwanted activities, which resulted in many children committing suicide, because of the shame they were subjected to once their parents found out. Furthermore, with many applications such as Facebook and Whatapp, children, being gullible as they are, form relationships with others, whom they don't know. This more often than not results in children lashing out at parents and also causes them to run away from home to avoid parental conflict. Now for some solutions. One of the main things I feel that will help curb this situation is that parents should educate their children on such matters related to the internet. They should know their friends. This way the kids will be aware of people on social media platforms, and if any such situation arises, they will know what to do. Secondly, they must create a situation, where the child has to take their classes in a common area of the house, such as the dining room so that the parent who is busy with their work can keep an eye on them. Lastly, parental controls need to be set in place on the phones, so if the kid needs to access a certain material they require parental approval. In conclusion, we live in a world where dangers can creep up from anywhere. It is our duty as parents, to educate the youth on the pitfalls of the internet, irrespective of how young they may be. Because the fact is that these situations are currently existing in their world and the only way to protect them is to teach them about it, so if any situation arises, they will know how to act accordingly.