Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Growing traffic and pollution has been a pressing issue. Personally, I disagree with the higher petrol prices could solve these problems. I believe there are various other measures that would be effective. Increasing the price of petrol will not resolve the issue. First of all, when the price rises, it will have an impact to most of the market globally. For instance, transportation companies will increase their service charge due to the expensive prices of petrol. Then it will continue to spread the effects to business that is using the services. Moreover, the fares of public transport will also jump in response to the increase of fuel price. Provided that people have to pay extra money to use public transport they are less likely to abandon driving their cars instead of catching a bus or a train. Eventually, the root of traffic congestion and pollution will not be solved. Clearly, other measures need to be taken to combat the present issues. To do this, we need to improve the choice of public transport services available to travellers. For example, if sufficient sky trains and underground train systems were built and effectively maintained in metropolitan areas, then there would be drastic changes made to the traffic. In conclusion, increasing petrol price can be effective but that is not the best. For solving growing traffic and pollution problems, people need to think and use different comprehensive ways.