In some countries around the world, men and women are having babies late in life. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

There are many reasons influencing families to become parents later in the modern world. Some say that this is not a good trend while others argue that it is a new lifestyle and more adaptable to the modern world. my opinion stands closer to the former statement. To begin with, it is known that the new urban lifestyle differs in many ways from the traditional one. in the past, one of the parents (mostly women) were expected to be at home so it was easier to raise a toddler as one of the parents was there to take care of them. an arrangement which lost its value in the modern lifestyle as both parents are working in most countries nowadays. to continue, it is important to have in mind that adding a family member requires financial support which is harder because of the consumerist behaviour of citizens. in other words, before,bringing a child to live parents should think about all the expenses they are going to have. for example, in iran a child with two working parents needs daycare and pre-education aside from all the nessecury expenses they have. as is said, having children late can have some demerits. one of them is the fact that as the parents are older there is a bigger age difference between them so they are coming from completely deferent backgrounds. to make it more tangible, we can talk about a study which showed that families with younger parents had more bonds as they could enjoy the same activities together and have more interactions. On the other hand, having babies later in life have many advantages as well. one of them is financial support. meaning that as the parents are older they achieve higher levels in their professional life and have more income so they can think of having extra expenses without the economic burden which young parents feel so they can spend more time taking care of their infant. for instance in a family where the parents are not junior staff and can manage to have a more flexible work time children can spend more time with their parents. In conclusion, the new urban lifestyle had led to many difficulties having a consequence of families having children later. this can have both pros and cons but it seems that in this new behaviour its assets are more tangible than the liabilities.