In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays an increasing number of people migrate from rural areas to cities, so the countryside society is declining. While there are many perspectives as to whether it is beneficial or not, I consider this propensity completely disadvantageous. Firstly, a rising number of rural inhabitants moving to cities causes overpopulation in urban areas. That is to say, growing demands from residents often exceed supplies that a place can offer, including for example places of accommodation. Paris is a prime example, where as a result of a huge number of rural immigrants between 2000 and 2010, it has become almost impossible to find a flat or home in a city center. Therefore, it is clear that a growing tendency to move to cities has caused a population explosion in many places. Secondly, as rural people emigrate from their hometowns, local customs are becoming extinct. In other words, because of a decrease in the number of people living there, the cultivation of certain traditions is becoming either less common, or they simply disappear. For instance, widely known Italian 'Toscanian Bread Festival' is no longer organized, because no people are familiar with the specific recipes, so that a minority is willing to continue this local tradition. Thus, it can be seen that the growing tendency to emigrate from the countryside poses a threat to local heritage. To conclude, I am of the opinion that a rising number of rural people immigrations to cities is detrimental trend, as not only does it cause overpopulation in urban zones, but it also weakens the traditions of the countryside.