In many Countries, small shops are closing. Give your reasons about this. Is it positive or negative? Give examples from your own knowledge and experiences.

The global economy has rapidly changed within recent history. Certain authorities claim that a number of small retail outlets are giving up their shops around the world. In my view, the increasing number of supermarkets and changing of consumers’ buying behaviours are the main reasons for this situation. However, in my opinion, despite all the plus points, there are several drawbacks that outweigh the countries’ economy and the community wellbeing through this situation. Firstly, the increasing number of shopping malls have a significant impact on this situation. Supermarkets are facilitated customers with a variety of high-quality products and services under one roof. In addition, they allow considerable freedom to their customers to decide the goods and the services which they intended to purchase. For instance, last Sunday, I had spent more than 3 hours at Arpico supermarket to buy ingredients for a Red Velvet cake, and I was on a video call with my sister throughout the whole time, but none of the staff was disturbed me. Consumers’ buying behaviours is also a major reason to close the small shops. Due to the busy lifestyles, nowadays, most of the people tend to enjoy their weekend shopping as a family gathering. The marketing teams of supermarkets ascertained those needs and facilitated shopping malls with all the leisure activities including; restaurants, cafes, cinemas and children’s play areas to attract more consumers. As a result, almost all the city residents are used to spending their weekend evenings at shopping complexes to be relaxing with their loved ones while purchasing their households. In my opinion, closing small shops will negatively influence both the country’s economy and the community. For instance, most of the small entrepreneurs are selling their products via those small retail shops. Thus, closing those market opportunities will reduce the number of entrepreneurs in the economy. Moreover, the lower-level income communities will face more difficulties owing to this situation, they will unable to afford the prices of high-quality supermarkets, due to their limited income. In conclusion, a dramatic increase in supermarket chains, and the busy life routines of consumers are the major reasons for closing small shops in several countries. Nevertheless, I believe that, this situation is negatively affected the economy and society by reducing the number of small entrepreneurs while limiting the facilities for lower-income communities with their daily essentials.