Nowadays many people have access to computers on a wide basis and a large number of children play computer games. What are the negative impacts of playing computer games and what can be done to minimize the bad effects?

Beyond any doubt, with the appearance of technology and computers along with access to video games, our lives have altered significantly, which has affected the increase of children addicted to computer games. Therefore, this essay will highlight the negative aspects of this modern malaise in concert with would-be solutions. Firstly, at the present time various popular computer games consist of violence where participants are required to kill, stab, or shoot their virtual rivals to pass a level. On top of this, in many of the games children are even rewarded for being more violent and this violence is repeated again and again. Nobody would argue that this might lead to an unexpected outburst of relentlessness, abnormal behavior, let alone, mental disorder. Secondly, all these sorts of games are time -consuming, children at their age are quite vulnerable thus they are not good at managing the time or a schedule. For instance, instead of preparing for homework or merely reading a book, they waste their time becoming immersed in video games, which negatively impacts their academic performance at school. To lessen all these detrimental aspects, parents should constantly supervise their offspring by checking if all selected video games are suitable according to their children ’s age. Moreover, not only should they set limits on the length of time games are played but also take adequate precautions to find out how their children feel about what they are observing. In summary, the sure-fire way to avoid the destructive influence of playing computer games by children is parental control. Under no circumstances should children be left at home unsupervised.