There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Nowadays there is a high pressure on kids and younger to be successful in their professional lives, especially in academic subjects. Concerning that, some people believe that schools should teach only traditional issues such as maths, science, and languages, instead of other skills like music, sports, or cookery. In this way, it is argued that the students must concentrate only on academic work to get better scores. I totally disagree because all matters are important for the full development of children and teenagers. The academic curriculum should be balanced with non-academic subjects, aiming to provide a holistic background, mental health, and several skills useful for an adult life. Removing issues like physical education, cookery, or music, can release more time on the timetable to the traditional subjects, but, on the other hand, can limit the range of abilities. Besides, this strategy can put a lot of pressure on young people and can be very harmful to kids' evolution. I think that education should be wide and provide as many types of knowledge as possible. Each person has particular talents and schools should help each one discover their potential and capacity. For instance, some people are exceptionally good in sports, others in arts, and others in biology. It is not fair to limit talents offering only basic issues. For example, there are a lot of successful people in arts, sports, and music. The academic way is not the only path to a happy life and success. To sum up, I believe that educational institutions should include in the syllabus, several areas of knowledge to form better professionals and citizens in all fields.