Some students tend to travel after finishing school and spend time working somewhere instead of going to the university directly. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is observed that after completing schooling, some teenagers prefer to travel and take a real-life work experience rather than attend college immediately. This essay will display how this trend can help students to gain work experience but will also show some downsides of it. To begin with, when juveniles start working in a practical environment, they not only learn new skills but also get a chance to apply their learned concepts in a better way. Taking a break and working before further studies helps students to explore different fields and make a wise decision in choosing their area of interest before pursuing further. Furthermore, they can also earn and save money for their higher education rather than depending on their parents. In a way, this makes youngsters Independent and teaches them the value of money. For example, my cousin took a year’s gap and joined a chartered accountancy firm where she was helping accountants to make data entries in Tally ERP 9. This played a vital role in deciding future goals. She was also able to fund her own tuition fees. On the other hand, there are a few potential problems that are notable. First, many students lose interest due to the freedom they get while being in a job. A segment of students also finds it hard to focus on studies due to a long break. Additionally, due to high competition in the market they also find it challenging to get their desired jobs. This can also affect their mental health. For instance, one of my friends had an onerous time in finding a job in her area of interest. To conclude, even though this trend may block a persons focus on studies, the benefits like getting first -hand experience and monetary independence outshines its disadvantages.