In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

During the fourth industrial revolution, technology has become not only a crucial part of life but also has a significant impact on human’s career path. As opposed to the past, people nowadays use more modern devices such as laptops, phone and 4G to start working at home, we no longer need to travel to the workplace. One of the benefits of working at home through computer or phone is that it can reduce the time of going to office. Since many countries had developed, most populated area suffers from traffic jam which holds off workers from getting to work on time. Instead, employees can have sometime for breakfast, therefore increase the ability to be satisfied and focus on their job. There are lots of function of these devices which people at home will have more flexibility, for instance, zoom becomes the best app when the COVID-19 pandemic that encouraged teachers to teach from their own room. On the contrary, there are still some limits to take into concern. Internet indeed is needed for online work and it will become a problem for workers who do not have internet access or have to pay a large bill for it. Additionally, relationships between employees or teams may not develop cause people tend to work alone. For example, online job may just deal with customers, and there are not any creative and competitive environments which may lead to dissatisfaction. In conclusion, more and more people are attracted to working online from home through computers, mobile and the internet because of its convenience such as save time and reinforce work productivity. On the other hand, it also reduces the interpersonal connection in some area and workers are may not develop teamwork skills.