In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

It is an irrefutable fact that the technological era has opened another world which is significantly beneficial for the humanity. Dating back to a number of years, a vast majority of people travelled to their workplace. However, due to the rise in using electronic devices and internet, more and more people begin to work from home. In this essay, I will discuss a couple of benefits and drawbacks of this improvement. First and foremost, people could benefit numerously from the flexible schedule created by working from home. In other words, they would have a right to freely choose their working time, and moreover they would partially get rid of the tiredness and pressure because the deadline could be possibly extended during remote-working. Furthermore, the successively advantageous point is we can do other things simultaneously without being (monitored) observed either by our colleagues or boss. For instance, if we have an infant, we can leave our work for a couple of minutes in order to take care of the child. On the other hand, there are obvious drawbacks to working online instead of at the workplace. Firstly, it would mean that the employees could be lesser productive. Due to the changeable extension of the deadline, forgetfulness or carelessness are highly inevitable. Secondly, the salary of remote work is considerably lower than usual. This is because the ease in work and the flexibility in time have put telecommuters at a lower pay. To clarify, instead of working in office hours, we could entirely manage our schedule and rearrange all things that suit us. In conclusion, whilst there are many considerable benefits in telecommuting which make time manageable to possess the efficiency in life, the drawbacks have partly painted the main difficulties in the picture of remote working.