With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be oppened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

The continuous burning of fossil fuels is the major contributor to the environmental problem plaguing mother earth over the last decade. However, with the demand for oil and gas, being at an all-time high, some people believe that undiscovered areas of the world should now be tapped to get access to more of their resources. I disagree with this notion, and I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. First of all, let us discuss the reasons why this motion should not carry. For starters, our current dependence on the burning of fossil fuels has held to an overall increase in the temperature of the earth. This has resulted in many of the ice caps around Antarctica and the Arctic beginning melting, thereby causing the sea levels to rise, which will not only cause the extinction of the animals living in these regions but also massive flooding will occur in the regions around it. For example, in the last couple of months, floods have been ravishing most of Europe, Japan, and even India, during periods where these countries are supposed to experience little rain. Therefore, in short, the more of the earth we look to go dig up for these fuels, the more damage we will be causing for ourselves in the future. Instead, the administration's should be using this opportunity to look into cleaner and renewable sources of energy. They should invest in wind turbines, that will help generate electricity for the cities. They should also encourage their citizens to ditch the plastic and move on to more recyclable materials, and to set up a recycling plant in various locations across their cities. An example of this would be in Finland, where the majority of the electricity is produced by wind turbines located outside the major cities. In conclusion, whilst fossil fuels have helped governments develop their respective countries to the levels they are at today, it is not the way to go in the future. The faster we realise this, and make the change to greener methods, the quicker we will be able to reverse the damage that we have already done.