Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a trend these days for organizations to get a detailed account from employees regarding their personal life including marital status and leisure time activities.Some folks think that such information has nothing to do with the job requirements and may be exploited in a negative way while others believe that this is important for better management and also for the provision of a friendly work environment. This essay will discuss both views and give my opinion that it is essential for employers to know the personal details before designating assignments in order to cater for the requirements of the subordinates. On the one hand, there are some drawbacks to sharing private details with the human resource department of a company.One of the major detriments is that it makes a person vulnerable to exploitation by unknown personalities.To illustrate, some owners might harass the single females working under their supervision.Those poor ladies may be blackmailed for the sake of career progression.In Lahore, for instance, a mobile company manager was arrested on the charges of sexual harassment of junior unmarried colleagues last year.He used the profile cards of the victims to force them for illegal favours. On the other hand, the intimate data of an individual is valuable for better output because it helps identify the right man for the right job. For example, a married person needs time to spend with his family, so his tasks should not bother his private life. Similarly, a gym-lover should be given time and space for physical activity at the workplace.These privileges can only be provided if the authorities know of the prior commitments of an employee. Moreover, it also enables the management to assist the employer's family demands.To give an example, my boss always sends me gifts and extra salary on my birthdays and wedding anniversaries boosting my stamina to work with more zeal and zest in my office. In conclusion, although there are some demerits of asking for extra information from the job aspirants including workplace harassment, I think that utilization of such data to look after the needs of an employee has a hugely positive impact on the worker's morale.