In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside the vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, technology has been considered to have a vital role in the development of transportation. Experts, as a result, predict that most vehicles may follow an automated driving system that does not need a driver to operate the transportation. Despite the fact that this evolution might lead to some drawbacks like safety issues or redundancies, I totally believe that the benefits clearly dominate the disadvantages. Confessedly, there are some problems that might arise if vehicles like cars, buses, or trucks become driverless. To begin with, the first issue is that the safety of passengers is not always ensured since automated vehicles use artificial – intelligence system, which can be easily and constantly hacked, to guide and work. Eventually, even a small hack could wreak significant damage on busy roads by causing continuous accidents. Another difficulty is that the rise of driverless vehicles may lead to the vast majority of redundancies. This means that drivers will have to find a new occupation, resulting in a considerable increase in unemployment. Vinhomes Ocean Park, an urban area in Vietnam, for instance, has recently introduced a new type of driverless bus using AI technology. Bus drivers in Ocean Park, therefore, lost their job and had to find a new one. Although the development can lead to some drawbacks, there are considerably more benefits. Firstly, a traffic system would become more efficient and effective as all vehicles will run on the same system; hence rules cannot be broken and cars would be able to travel at optimal istances instances from others. This, in turn, may lead to a reduction in traffic congestion, and transportation could become much faster. Secondly, the evolution can contribute to economic development by lessening travel time and transportation costs. To be more specific, there would be fewer drivers which lead to the fact that companies would spend less money on salaries. To sum up, I firmly believe that driverless vehicles would have both positive and negative impacts on the society. Caution, nevertheless, should be seriously takne take into account in order for automated vehicles to be used effectively.