Today, people are getting greedy and selfish. Some people argue that we should go back to the old days and show respect for the family and community, so that we can make the world a better place to live in. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are controversial perspectives heating a debate over our lifestyle. While some hold a strong view that people become more and more greedy and selfish currently, some claim that we should turn back to the past and show our respect for family and society in order that the world will be more livable for all residents. I consider myself as an opponent of these ideas. Doubtlessly, in terms of the previous generation, families and relatives play a paramount significance in their life, which encourages people to surmount all of the life issues and deal with the problems coming up unexpectedly. In specific, the former people are aware that beloved members are willing to help them immediately, including tangible and sentimental benefits. My story can be a compelling example for this. My grandfather always told me about his life, which was also about his family, how they shared and cared for each member or even the encouragement they provided to boost the confidence of their beloved members with a view to helping them confront problems. On the other hand, from the time being, we tend to live more independently, which is working separately for individual profits and lastly, we blame this undesirable phenomenon for the generation gap and misunderstandings. In addition, we gradually change our attitude towards families, which not only breaks down the family solidarity but also leads to jeopardize social relationships. Therefore, reviving the respect and affection for family is extremely necessary. While the merit of expressing respect to family is widely acknowledged, each current individual also ought to dedicate themselves to the community’s advantages. Back to the old days, it was obvious that public benefits were taken into consideration prior to carrying out any work, which made the society become more livable. In contrast, in this age, so greedy are people that they may engage in illegal activities in order to their own surplus expansion. For instance, there is a variety of merchants eran handsome incomes from manufacturing unqualified products and coax consumers into purchasing it though it is not necessary. Moreover, some businesses even refuse to plough back a fraction of their revenues to the community’s benefits such as helping homeless people, parentless children. While it is true that our community still has generous people who are willing to help all walks of life, we cannot deny that the number of self-centered people is significantly higher than in the past. To sum up, due to the egoism we are now worsening our relationship between us and our families and also society. Hence, in my opinion, we should avoid the loss of household unity by reconstructing the concept of family and community like what people in the past used to with a view to making a better place for future generations to live.