It is inevitable that traditional cultures will be lost as technology develops. Technology and traditional cultures are incompatible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It is true that nowadays technology has developed rapidly, and this leads to a variety of changes in society. Some people believe that traditional culture would gradually disappear due to technological innovation. Although it might be true in some cases, I would disagree with this view in general. There are several reasons why people think technological progress results in dying out of traditional culture. Firstly, the diversity of culture is obviously decreasing while culture invasion has become much more common through the Internet. For example, Hollywood movie is popular all over the world, which poses a threat to some local form of play. Secondly, when people get accustomed to a modern lifestyle in a civilized society, they’ll forgo their original lifestyle; this may contribute to some precious traditional handcraft disappearing. In spite of these negative effects, I would argue that technology has significantly positive effects on traditional culture. Nowadays, people can easily preserve traditional culture by using technological equipment. For example, we can record traditional songs on a CD, or we can film traditional plays on a videotape. These recordings can spread much more widely throughout the Internet, so numerous members in public get chances to appreciate the beauty of traditional culture. This definitely cannot be done if there were not the help of modern technology. In conclusion, while I can understand why some people have strong concerns that technological progress would ruin traditional culture, I would argue that technology has opposite impacts on traditional culture, and these two are totally compatible.