Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that college pupils should choose the courses they want to take, while others state that they should only be offered scientific and technological ones. This essay will discuss both views and indicate that choosing what to study is more ideal for university students. University education determines one's future career and the freedom to choose the subjects to take build content. Studies show that individuals who study what they want are likely to excel, become skilful professionals and are fulfilled. Furthermore, such individuals are said to be creative and innovative in their profession. For example, it is said that Bill Gates was passionate about computers and software from a young age and he builds his career from Harvard by choosing the subjects aligned to what he wanted to achieve. Moreover, a variety of professionals that will cater for all societal needs are produced when people choose their career compared to focussing on science and technology, which can flood the market. Offering only science and technology programmes in tertiary schools can be the cornerstone for future industries which are growing towards automation. Globally, we are reliant on machines and this current situation requires well-versed scientists and technologists to build and maintain them. If universities do not train only people in these two fields, most future industries are likely to collapse and human life devastated. For instance, in the year 2006 there was shortage of cardiac specialists in Lesotho because most student had enrolled to study arts and law. However, I have met individuals who failed to complete their scientific courses and ended up dropping because they were forced to take them. Such individuals were good in arts subjects. In conclusion, studying whatever an individual wants is more superior than being offerred courses that one does not enjoy. People have different strengths and understanding of courses and being given choices goes a long way into accomplishing one's goal.