News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news, and would it be better if more good news was reported?

A variety of factors may lead to the decisions of the way news comes out. While in my opinion, I prefer more good news than bad news is reported. There are several reasons that influence news editors’ decisions. Firstly, some news should be broadcast immediately which is very emergency. For example, the information about disasters, such as earthquake, floods, typhoon and so on which have to inform people quickly. Secondly, television broadcasts are more vividly which people are capable of watching videos to see the situations. Finally, the newspaper as an old media is not popular among the youth who prefer using mobile phones to read the news. Also I think there is too much bad news in our lives, good news should be reported more. The opportunity to report more good news could be extremely positive for the whole society. Nowadays, modern people have lots of pressure from their lives, bad news only will give them pressure and produce a negative sense. Good news can be a way to excite people and cheer them up. For instance, Chinese people are very proud of our atheists when they got medals in Olympics. In conclusion, there are various reasons influencing the ways of news broadcasts, and I believe that good news always can excite people than bad news.