More and more people in developing countries are purchasing cars for the first time. What problems does this cause? What do you think is a possible solution?

There is a growing number of people that are buying vehicles for the first time. The principal problems these causes are pollution and traffic congestion, and the viable solution is to increase taxes for owning and purchasing vehicles. The primary issue developing countries face when their citizens start to buy cars is increased pollution. This occurs as a result of the vehicles using fuel and internal combustion power that releases carbon emissions into the air. The greater number of vehicles on the road is also responsible for a rise in traffic jams. This is because many people are now able to afford car ownership as the price of the cars are not too expensive as thus, people prefer to ride in their own car rather than using public transport. For example, our capital city has a population of 1 million people but one in every two persons own vehicles which results in consistent traffic congestion within the city centre during the weekdays. A solution to this problem is to impose a significant amount of taxes for owning and purchasing a car. This would solve the problems by reducing the number of cars owned by individuals and people would opt to use public transport as the costs of owning a car would be unaffordable. For example, rich nations such as Japan has well developed public transportation system and their residents don’t possess private vehicles as the maintenance and ownership price is substantial. In conclusion, the growing number of vehicles in low-income countries is a major issue that can result in air pollution and traffic congestion. However, it can be addressed through a significant amount of taxes levied on vehicles which will eventually reduce the number of cars in the region.