Nowadays, more people are migrating to other countries than ever before. In order to become integrated into society in their adopted countries, immigrants should abandon their old ways and adapt to local customs and codes of behavior. Do you agree or disagree?

People are mostly inclined to migrate to other countries at present than in the past. It is to say that, for their adaptation to the new place, migrants should leave their own previous lifestyles and ought to follow the local customs and norms. I personally disagree with this viewpoint because cultural behaviour and norms are the identity of one nation and migration should not refrain them from practising it. On the one hand, every country has their own culture and there is no doubt. Those who are in search of better opportunities and secure living, migrate to a foreign country and encounter a new environment, people, and culture. However, it does not mean that they are bound to follow the norms of that foreign country leaving their own ways of behaviour behind. Rather practicing their own behaviour and customs could provide that country a cultural diversity which might be a good example in the world. Take for example Australia. It is popularly known as a culturally diverse country in which 80% of inhabitants are migrants and they are free to follow their own norms and behaviours and nothing is creating any problem about that. On the other hand, someone's own lifestyle and behaviour is associated with his or her existence and identity. People mostly migrate for development but if they are compelled to change their past norms the result of migration would be negative. If people change it and adopt a new one, that would not be good for their development. As a result, they will forget their roots and will suffer from identity crises. For example, in one state of England, migrated people are bound to follow the present cultural behaviour leaving behind their past ones. Eventually, that results in a fall in migration in that province because people do not like it. Thus. the result of forgetting one's own ways of life is not always beneficial. To conclude, migrants should be given the opportunity of practising their own lifestyle, norms, and behaviour. It would not be beneficial to leave someone's behaviour and lifestyle because without it a particular nation cannot thrive.