More and more young people use the Internet to socialise. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The use of internet to communicate among youngsters is becoming more popular. This essay will show how such a move has both benefits and drawbacks. Social media has reduced the spread of aerosol diseases such as covid 19. This is so because there is less human contact who can act as a medium of transmitting the viruses. For example, using the internet one can interact with more than 20 individuals at the same time from different places, learning their culture, language through the phones or and computers. The lack of physical connection cuts the transmission of such infection. Moreover there are a number of different network platforms such as Facebook, WhatsUp that one can utilise to socialise with people,at any given time. With internet,availability one can start a conversation and find people to talk to at any time of the day. The disadvantages of network socialisation include lack of social skill development and privacy. It is said that every person especially the youth need physical contact to develop meaningful social skills that are important in teamwork. Such connections are vital in maintaining long-lasting relationships. For instance, studies show that 25% of adults who have not had adequate physical interaction with people during their youth fail to make and maintain fruitful relationships with other people. In addition to poor relationship development, internet socialisation has no privacy. People can hack into someone's account and post private conversations into the public domain. This has detrimental consequences on people's emotions. In conclusion, despite lack of privacy and social skills abilities, the internet offers a reduction in transmission of deadly infections and a huge platform to communicate with many people at a go.