Studies show that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison to get a good job once they are released. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people, especially from poor financial backgrounds, commit most of the crimes seen today. However, some people argue that to suppress the crime rate and help them find a decent job, it is necessary to promote good values by schooling them. In my opinion, I totally agree with the notion of facilitating learning among prisoners to guide them to walk on the appropriate paths. Many convicts have not had the chance of proper education due to their underprivileged conditions, they become more vulnerable to committing crimes and going to jail. Education can help eliminate most of the problems faced today; it is a way to a healthy and prosperous life and also imbibes good moral values. If prisoners are exposed to good learning, they might inculcate these values in them. Such a foundation can help with getting a good-paying job and a social status too. Furthermore, having a good source of income might withdraw them from doing any illegal work to suffice their needs. For example, many ex-convicts in India are now working for a non-profit organisation. Additionally, getting a source of income and working for the organisation will lead to the development of society. It will bring in more capital to the province, which can be utilised for its further growth. Besides, there will be an atmosphere of serenity across, and people will not have to bother much about the mishappenings in the world. For instance, many ex-convicts have embarked upon the path of spirituality. In conclusion, a good education can benefit criminals with a better life and a well-paid job once they are released and might help them gain social status and thereby, reduce the crime rate.