Some people believe that government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce congestion, others think that building more and wider roads is the best way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether the authorities are supposed to take immediate actions to cope with road crowding by constructing railways and metro station or more and expanded expressway. While sufficient highways are helpful to tackle this issue, I believe that having enough trains and subways are more important. On the one hand, narrow roads are the main reason for causing traffic problems. When streets cannot provide enough space for vehicles, the distance between is so close that it may result to accidents. For instance, research shoes that metropolises have higher rate in accidents on the streets. Moreover, handling them will increase traffic jam. For that reason, constructing more and wider streets will help cope with road stress. On the other hand, it is perhaps more important that cities have more forms of transportation. Trains and underground railways are popular for commuters mainly because it does not only cause much harmful gas emission but also protects the environment and saves time. Arrival and departure time is organized that it would not cause traffic chaos. If cities have the tendency to build more public transport lines, it will release road pressure. For example, Beijing has built more than 15 subway lines throughout the whole city. The majority of society prefer these forms of transport rather than spend time on congested roads. Accordingly, I believe that the concerning authorities can deal with heavy traffic by expanding public transport lines. In conclusion, I can understand why people might want councils to improve highways, but it seems to me that more train and subway tunnels are more desirable in cities. This is because it helps save the environment and saves travel time.