With the rise of ebooks comes the decline in paper books. Some people see this as a good forward step while others do not. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

With the advancement of technology, we can get information and entertainment on the go, with a couple of clicks of a button. This is also true when it comes to books. With the rise of e- books, many people are migrating from the traditional methods of reading to the modern method. However, like other things, the introduction of ebooks has both advantages and disadvantages which we shall see in the course of this essay. First, we shall start with the advantages of e- books. Firstly, the availability of e- books has made reading possible on the go because all that is required is a good internet connection, and a medium to read the material on, an example of which is a tablet, which can fit easily into a person's bag. Secondly, the myriad of materials available to choose from means that you don't have to stick to a book you feel is not to your taste. An example of ebooks would be the arrival of Amazon Kindle, which can be purchased from Amazon itself. Once done, readers can purchase books for nominal prices and read them at their leisure, without the worry of the time limit that many libraries put on book borrowing. Lastly, the fact that a potential reader can pick up a book at any given time also helps to attract prospective readers. Now let us look at the disadvantages. One of the main drawbacks of ebooks is the fact that you will be constantly looking at a screen, which over time can damage your eyes. In addition to this, you will need a device to read the books from and the device will require batteries to run on. Therefore, your purchase of batteries will go up. Furthermore, as this is an online service, there is a greater chance that files can be lost due to corruption. Lastly, many people prefer reading paperback books because it is lasting, and also there is a satisfaction that is achieved from reading them. To conclude, I do believe that ebooks are gaining popularity amongst the younger generation and are getting more and more individuals into the habit of reading, all be it online.