The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of modern life style. what are the advantages of this trend. Do the advantages outweigh disadvantages.

In this modern life, everyone is running for time, and in fact, 24 hours in a day is not enough. To cope with this on-the-go lifestyle, many food companies have created meals that meet this requirement. Although it helps solve the problem, it poses more risks than benefits which I will substantiate in the course of this essay. Firstly, let's look at the benefits. Nowadays, we have many food corporations making products that require a minimum of 5 minutes to cook, as compared to the process of creating a full meal which would take a couple of hours. These meals are a lifeline for many single parents working double shifts to meet the monthly requirements. For example, Nestle has created a product, Maggi Noodles, which has revolutionised convenience foods. An item that takes only 5 minutes to prepare, has the lasting effect of a full meal and can be prepared on the go, it meets all the requirements for a modern-day working household. Alternately, the main drawback of these preserved foods is that the preservatives added are not healthy for people. However, the manufacturers, who are more interested in profit than understanding the composition of the ingredients, so add a lot of it to the product so that it will get more flavour. Furthermore, many manufacturers use chemical dyes to make their products more attractive to the buyer. In conclusion, the drawbacks of convenience foods heavily outweigh the advantages. However, the problem is that these drawbacks can be seen over a duration of time, and are not immediate, which makes it hard to educate the population on its devastating effects.