Experts say older people were happier and healthier in the past because they did more exercise and spent more time with family and friends, whereas now many suffer loneliness and health problems. What are the causes of this and what are some solutions?

In recent years, the issue related to elderly people has attracted the public’s attention. Some experts suggest that ageing populations are more likely to continuously increase, while others oppose that senior sectors experience both mental and physical problems. In the following paragraphs, the potential causes and feasible approaches will be discussed. Firstly, the principal cause of this phenomenon is that elders inevitably are in a state of neglect from their families. Thailand, for instance, the majority of homeless witness older persons living across streets or under bridges. This is because the family belonging to lower-income groups tends to leave these people alone thanks to saving the cost of living consumption. Additionally, it is common to understand that health seems to be a vital issue for retired individuals. To explain, a healthy lifestyle is normally ignored since people basically spend extreme life without preserving well-being when they were mature such as excessive smoking and consuming alcoholic beverages. Conversely, there are effective ways to tackle such problems, or at least mitigate the effects. The quality of life should be initially extolled the virtue by governments such as providing the state welfare or pension funds, consequently, leading elderly communities to have stability after the retirement age. For example, the Obama Care – providing health insurance scheme – helps American people to access affordable coverage, particularly in underprivileged groups. Moreover, it is essential to raise awareness towards health concerns owing to the increase of lung and liver cancer in ageing societies. In other words, ministries can extend the higher value-added tax on unhealthy products in order to completely control the intake. In conclusion, even though the reason for this matter is severe, there are steps that regimes and individuals can take to minimise its effects. Therefore, these factors could be noticeably changed in the future.