Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying foreign languages is not just a trend but it becomes part of the current education system. From the perspective of some scholars, it is a common belief that foreign languages are taught to kids before secondary school is the best time. In my opinion, learning a second language at the primary stage has more benefits indeed for kids. To begin with, young children have strong learning abilities in all fields. They can learn what they are taught by teachers in a quite short time. Although there some parents claim that their children lost interest in studying foreign languages because of an unprofessional boring tutor. There are still plenty of opportunities to help those students regain interest and confidence because they are young. Furthermore, primary pupils have less pressure on tests and homework. Conversely, secondary school learners almost spend most of their time preparing for exams and doing homework. It might trigger great anxiety and the efficiency of learning would be extremely low if put too much pressure on studying new languages. On the other hand, being familiar with basic knowledge earlier is helpful for deeper grammar and vocabulary in foreign language learning. With a good base of a language, kids can understand difficult knowledge easily in their later study. For instance, in English teaching, if children can learn phonics well, they can remember and pronounce a new word accurately, instead of rote-learning. In summary, learning foreign words at primary school has some disadvantages. It is must not ignore that there is much evidence to prove the benefits exceed disadvantages of studying second languages at primary age.