Some countries have introduced laws to limit working hours for employees. Why are these laws introduced? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

A few nations have made laws to limit working hours for workers in their companies. These laws were made to track the overall productivity of employees with respect to the time they spend in the workplace and consequent financial gains. This essay will illustrate the reason for this development as well as show that it is a positive trend. In the first place, one of the reasons for some countries to limit working hours is to ensure healthy individuals. For example, research has found that workers who work 18 hours a day and 7 days a week die by the age of 50. These kinds of findings have led countries like Japan to mandate a four-day workweek with the aim of giving employees more time to lead wholesome lives. Additionally, if an organisation expects its workers to devote most of their lives to their profession at the cost of other roles such as a parent, a responsible adult or a spouse, they will be unsuccessful citizens. Therefore, for instance, countries like France, the USA and Australia, make it a must for employees to perform only for 49 weeks a year. They are forced to take a vacation for at least two to three weeks. This trend in the developed world has not reduced their productivity nor their status on many of the development indices such as literacy, per capita earnings etc. Moreover, their citizens have a work-life balance which has made them productive in their societies. The spare time that becomes available has resulted in them indulging in money-generating side businesses which in turn has made them acquire assets as well as become very well-travelled. Hence one can see that this trend to reduce the number of days of work has increased the quality of life in these regions. In conclusion, while gainful work is essential for being a socially-productive individual, having a work-life balance is even more crucial. This has been rightly assessed by a few nations and they have passed laws to bring down the days that a staff member gives to an organisation, which has led to them becoming more efficient as well as making their societies advanced in their lifestyles.