Some people think that the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Education plays a vital role in improving human well-being. There has been an inconclusive debate about whether the main objective of going to school is to transform students into workers, instead of offering advantages to them individually, which I agree with this viewpoint. In this essay, the reasons supporting my idea will be presented in detail. First of all, most ordinary schools do not teach children about the necessary skill for living such as cooking, growing vegetables, raising animals, and constructing a house. They teach only the subjects that are important for studying in higher education and working in the companies, including Math, Science, and languages. Therefore, children cannot rely on themselves in order to produce their own food and build their own house, Consequently, they need to work in the companies to put food on the table and need to collect money to buy a house. To illustrate the good education, Jone Jundai, a founder of homeschooling in Chiangmai, teaches his sons to cultivate various plants to consume, to raise chickens to collect eggs, as well as build earth houses, which pupils can have their own residence since young ages. Furthermore, the recent educational system solely focuses on the score and GPA. As a result, the students who are not fit with this particular system, and may have the talents for other issues such as dancing, singing, and drawing, are identified as stupid persons and find it difficult to get jobs. For example, Jack Ma, a founder of Alibaba companies, the second richest person in China, was rejected from many prestigious universities as he could not pass the exams and the interviews. However, nowadays he is one of the most successful persons in the world by establishing the pioneering online shopping website in China. Thus, universities are not beneficial for some people. In conclusion, according to the information mentioned above, I strongly agree with the statement due to lack of basic skills for survival, and the curriculums focusing on scores are not suitable for all students who are different and unique.