Many working people get little or no exercise either during the working day or in their free time and have health problems as a result. Why do so many working people not get enough exercise? What can be done about this problem?

According to studies, lots of city dwellers nowadays are prone to physical inactivity, that causes health issues. The most evident causes and possible solutions are the subject of this essay. One of the obvious factors that prevent white collars from getting adequate exercises is staying at offices for hours after the working day is over. A rat race with colleagues to climb a career ladder and to do all the work at time make people sacrifice they personal life. Another serious reason to forget about physical activities is the time that workers spend while getting to an office and back home. For example, in Moscow it is counted that up to thirty percent of citizens waste from one to three hours a for everyday’s trips. As a result, the employees can hardly find a suitable time and have no strength to do anything else. The way out can be found by implementing stricter laws for businesses and employers that oblige them to control and prevent overtime work. Companies should foster and encourage their staff to keep work-life balance by proposing partly or fully payed gyms and other fitness facilities. After all, sporty and less sick workforce is more productive and less expensive. As well, flexible working hours really helps to save time by escaping traffic jams. To summarize, those people whose jobs do not involve any movements during a day are often not able to ensure enough exercise to keep their bodies fit and healthy. The most important reason for this is extra hours spent in office and on the way there and back. However, it is possible to overcome this situation by forbidding overtime work and sponsoring any kinds of workouts.